Kit Carson County Jail

The Kit Carson County Jail is located in Burlington, Colorado. It is operated by the Kit Carson County Sheriff's Department and houses adult men and women who have been arrested by local law enforcement. 

Inmate Search

To find out if your loved one is being held in the Kit Carson County Jail, click here to sign up for mobile patrol, call the facility at 719-346-7006, or use VINE. Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth.

The Colorado VINE system is a service through which victims of crime can search for information regarding the custody status of their offender, and to register to receive phone calls and e-mail notifications when the offender’s custody status changes. 

The VINE toll-free number for the Colorado VINE system is (888) 263-8463. This service is provided to assist Victims of Crime who have a right to know about their offender's custody status. Click this link to register.

Bonding an Inmate out of the Kit Carson County Jail

Call the jail to find out the type of bond required for your inmate. The bond is set by a judge according to a court-approved schedule. The purpose is to make sure the defendant will appear at all his or her court dates. The amount of the bond is what it will take to release the inmate from jail. 

There are three types of bonds—personal recognizance (PR), surety, and cash. PR bonds are issued by the judge and only require a signature (no money). Surety bonds require a bondsman, who will pay the bond and charge you 10% to 15% of the bond amount as a fee (none of this money will be returned to you). 

Cash bonds must be paid in full with cash, debit/credit card (with a 3% fee), or money order. They can be paid online or at the Kit Carson County Jail. The full amount of a cash bond is returned once all court appearances have been made.

There is a $30 booking fee and a $10 bond fee for all inmates at the Kit Carson County Jail. The expectation is that these fees will be paid at the time of bonding your inmate out of jail. Colorado law does allow those fees to be charged, and you do not have to pay them at the time of bonding.

Please call the jail if you have any questions or concerns.

Prison Insights

Kit Carson County Jail

Go back

What Do Inmate Families Think?

Go back

What Do Former Inmates Think?

Go back

What Do Employees Think?

Go back
Sorry, there are no insights for this section of the facility yet.
Overall Score = /10
Total Respondents =

Visiting Hours and Rules

The visiting hours at the Kit Carson County Jail are as follows:

Male Inmates have visiting hours on Thursday, except Holidays

  • 9:30AM - 11:30 AM
  • 12:30 - 1:30 PM
  • 2:15 PM - 4:30 PM

Female Inmates have visiting hours on Friday, except Holidays.

  • 9:30AM - 11:30 AM
  • 12:30 - 1:30 PM
  • 2:15 PM - 4:30 PM

Inmates are allowed one hour for visitation day. Adult visitors must have a valid, government-issued photo ID. Minors must be accompanied by an adult and have a School ID.

You cannot visit if you have been an inmate of the Kit Carson County Jail within the past six months.  If you are on active probation or parole, you must have permission to visit from the department where you are on probation or parole.

Dress Code

Visitors at the Kit Carson County Jail must dress appropriately, which means conventional clothing that is not provocative, suggestive, or revealing, and does not resemble inmate attire or feature adornments which could be used as a weapon. Shoes and appropriate undergarments are required (undergarments should not be visible).

Other visitor clothing standards include: 

  • No controversial/objectionable, gang, obscene, drug, and alcohol designs, messages or profanity on clothing.
  • Visitors are not to wear any garment which unduly exposes the shoulders, chest, back, stomach, midriff and/or underarm. Necklines must be within two inches of the notch of the neck.
  • Clothing made of sheer, transparent, net or mesh materials are not allowed. 
  • Clothing designed or intended to be tightly worn, to excessively accentuate the body, e.g., spandex, tights, leggings, tank tops, etc. is not allowed. 
  • Dresses, skirts, jumpers, culottes, and shorts must be no more than four inches above the kneecap when standing. Slit dresses/skirts are allowed only if the slit is not more than four inches above the kneecap while standing. Wrap around clothing is not allowed.

Cell phones are not allowed in the visitation area.

Physical Address

Kit Carson County Jail
251 16th St
Burlington, CO 80807

Driving Directions:

General Phone Number


Inmate Mailing Address(es)

Inmate's Full Name
Kit Carson County Jail
C/O The Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office
1650 Donelan Ave, Suite 103
Burlington, CO 80807. 

Do not send packages, books, or magazines to an inmate at the Kit Carson County Jail. These items will be rejected.

How to Call an Inmate

Inmates at the Kit Carson County Jail cannot receive incoming phone calls, however, they have access to phones and can make outgoing calls from the inmate housing area. Phone calls are recorded and may be monitored at any time.

To set up an account or purchase phone time, call 877-998-5678.

How to Send Money

To put money on an inmate's commissary books, the Kit Carson County Jail accepts cash or money orders at the front window during normal business hours. You can also mail the money order to:

Inmate Name
C/O The Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office
1650 Donelan Ave, Suite 103
Burlington, CO 80807. 

Funds can also be added by calling 866-394-0490 or online at Access Corrections.

Programs For Inmates

This information is not publicly available.

Pictures of Kit Carson County Jail

Careers at Kit Carson County Jail

If you are interested in a career with the Kit Carson County Sheriff's Department and would like more information about the job openings at the Kit Carson County Jail, click here.

Kit Carson County is An Equal Opportunity Employer (EOE). Drug testing is required for all employees. The Sheriff's Department welcomes and accepts applications for all positions. When there is an opening, applications are reviewed and suitable candidates are contacted for an interview.

You can pick up applications at the Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office in the Kit Carson County Courthouse at 251 Donelan Ave, Suite 103, Burlington, CO 80807.  For additional information call (719) 346-8934.

If you are unable to pick up an application, you can download a copy of the application form here and return it by mail to the address above or fax it to 719-346-7282. If you are applying for a specific opening, please indicate at the top of the form before returning it.

After a 90 day waiting period, Kit Carson County pays 100% of the Medical Insurance cost for the employee and their family. Benefits also include:

  • 3% Retirement Match
  • Sick Leave after one month
  • Annual Leave after one month

Applicants for the position of Detention Deputy must be 21 years of age and a U.S. citizen or have an appropriate work visa.  High school diploma or equivalent required; college degree in criminal justice or related field is preferred. 

Other requirements for the position include: 

  • A valid Colorado driver's license. 
  • Must live within Kit Carson County or the surrounding Colorado Counties (Cheyenne, Lincoln, Yuma or Washington).  
  • Must be able to work all shifts, which includes days, nights, weekends.
  • Required to obtain National Sheriffs Association Jail Officer’s Certification within the first six months of employment.