Manatee County Central Jail

The Manatee County Central Jail is located in Palmetto, Florida. This facility is operated by the Manatee County Sheriff's Office, and houses adult men and women—both misdemeanor and felony inmates—who have been arrested by local county or municipal law enforcement. 

Some of the inmates at the Manatee County Jail have been tried and sentenced to the jail or the Florida Department of Corrections. However, most inmates have not yet been tried by the courts, so they are presumed innocent until proven guilty.  

Inmate Search

To find out if your loved one is being held in Manatee County, click here, call the jail at (941) 723-5132, or use VINE (see below). Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth when using the VINE website.

Florida VINE

The Florida VINE system is a service through which victims of crime can search for information regarding the custody status of their offender, and to register to receive phone calls and e-mail notifications when the offender’s custody status changes. 

This service is provided to assist Victims of Crime who have a right to know about their offender's custody status. Click this link to register.

Inmates being held for U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), the Florida Department of Corrections (DOC), or charges from other counties will not be found by going to the VINE Link above. You will have to call the jail.

Bonding someone out of the Manatee County Jail

The method (cash/surety) and amount of money needed for bonding someone out of the Manatee County Jail depends on their charges. Most crimes, but not all crimes, are bondable offenses.

When you pay a cash bond, it is refunded to you when all court appearances have been made and the case is discharged, dismissed, or a not guilty verdict rendered. If the arrestee fails to appear or is found guilty, the money will be forfeited. 

When you use a Bail Bondsman for a surety bond, you will not get a refund. 

Information about an arrestee's charge(s) and bond are available by clicking the Arrest Inquiry Link, by calling (941) 723-5132, or by visiting the Central Jail Front Desk. That desk is located in the lobby of the central jail, and is open between 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM.

The only acceptable forms of payment for bonds are cash, cashier's checks, or money orders. Cash bonds are accepted 24-hours-a-day. When posting bail, checks and money orders must be made payable to the Manatee County Clerk of Circuit Court.  The inmate's booking number should also be written on the money order/check.

Prison Insights

Manatee County Central Jail

Go back

What Do Inmate Families Think?

Go back

What Do Former Inmates Think?

Go back

What Do Employees Think?

Go back
Sorry, there are no insights for this section of the facility yet.
Overall Score = /10
Total Respondents =

Visiting Hours and Rules

Visiting at the Manatee County Central Jail takes place at the Visitation Center located at 2705 County Line Road in Palmetto. The Visitation Center is open daily between 7:45a.m. to 7:30 p.m. All visits are non-contact and by appointment only. 

First time visitors should call 941-747-3011 ext 2902 between 8am-7pm to schedule their visit for the following day. The visitation clerk can only schedule a visit 24 hours in advance.

Visitors who have already been to visitation (and have provided the visiting center with an email address) can schedule their own visits online at Visits may be scheduled seven days in advance and up to one day prior on the website. 

There is a computer located in the lobby of the visitation center for those without internet access. The website is available in English and Spanish. 

If you have visited but have not provided an email address, the visitation staff will assign you an email address and provide you with a card containing your password and user ID.

Inmates are allowed three one-hour visits per week, but no more than two visits per day. Visitors are allowed to visit two inmates per day. Visitors can schedule back to back visits with the same inmate.

Visit Helpline

The visitor helpline is available from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm every day. Call (941)747-3011 extension 2902 or 2903 to get assistance with scheduling visits on your personal computer. You may also call this extension if you need information concerning a visit that is already scheduled

Visiting Rules

Visitors must arrive no earlier than 15 minutes before the start of their scheduled visitation. Visitors arriving after the start of their scheduled session will not be permitted to enter and the visit is automatically canceled. 

Car keys and wallets are the only personal items allowed into the Visitation Center. Visitors with infants and small children may bring one baby bottle/one diaper/baby wipes/and a blanket. A stroller or hand-carried baby carrier will also be permitted.

CELL PHONES ARE NOT PERMITTED IN THE VISITATION CENTER. Visitors caught with a cell phone will be asked to leave and may have future visits suspended.

All visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult who will be required to sit in the Visitation Center along with the under aged visitor. Unaccompanied minors will not be permitted in the Visitation Center.

Minor children must be supervised at all times. Failure to do so will be cause for termination of your visit. Each inmate is permitted to have up to three visitors at one time, including children and infants.

Visitors under the age of 18 who are married to a facility inmate must provide a valid marriage certificate prior to the start of the visitation session.

Visitors must have a proper photo ID that includes their date of birth. Acceptable forms of identification include:

  • Valid Driver’s License
  • Valid State ID card
  • Valid Military ID card
  • Valid PassPort with a photo attached.

All visits are monitored and are subject to being recorded.

Visitors who leave the center before their session is over will not be permitted to re-enter. Anyone who appears to be under the influence of drugs and or alcohol will not be permitted to enter the visiting center.

Dress Code

Proper attire is required in the visitation center at all times. Shoes and shirts must be worn; suggestive clothing, see-through fabrics, halter or tube type tops, short shorts, or mini-skirts will not be permitted. Appropriate underclothing is required.

Physical Address

Manatee County Central Jail
14470 Harlee Road
Palmetto, FL 34221

Driving Directions:

General Phone Number

Central Jail - Booking           (941) 723-5132
Central Jail - Information      (941) 747-3011 ext 2915
Central Jail - Medical Section  (941) 747-3011 ext 2944 or 2969
Central Jail - Video Visitation  (941) 747-3011 On-site ext. 2902, Online ext. 2813

Inmate Mailing Address(es)

(Inmate’s Full Name)/Booking Number
Manatee County Central Jail
14470 Harlee Road
Palmetto, FL 34221

Inmates at the Manatee County Central Jail are only allowed to receive POSTCARDS from family/friends. Letters are NOT acceptable. Postcards must be at least 3.5 inches by 4.25 inches BUT NO LARGER THAN 4.25 inches by 6 inches. All mail must include a return address.

Postcards must be TYPED or written in BLACK or BLUE INK ONLY. Photos are allowed but must be addressed and stamped individually and must follow the same rules as regular postcards

The following types of postcards will not be accepted at the Manatee County Jail: 

  • Defaced or altered
  • Postcards with plastic or wrappings
  • Marked with paint, magic markers, or crayons.
  • Covered with stickers or labels (including address labels).
  • Watermarks or stains
  • Biohazards, including lipsticks and perfumes.
  • Depicting nudity, weapons, or gang references.
  • Oversized

Inmates are allowed to receive the following items in the mail:

  • Magazines, paperback books (including puzzle books) as long as they are mailed directly from the publisher's authorized distributor or a retailer such as; Books a Million, WaldenBooks, Barnes and Noble, or similar retailers. 
  • Newspaper subscription (must be sent from the newspaper office or distribution center)

Publications will be rejected if the content is considered a threat to the facility. A publication may not be rejected solely because its content is religious, philosophical, political, social or sexual, or because it is unpopular or repugnant.

Content that is rejected usually includes one or more of the following:

  • Depictions or descriptions of procedures for the construction or use of weapons, ammunition, bombs or incendiary devices.
  • Encourages or describes methods of escape from correctional facilities, or contains blueprints, drawings or similar descriptions of Bureaus of Prison institutions.
  • Depicts or describes procedures for the brewing of alcoholic beverages, or the manufacture of drugs.
  • Mail that is written in code.
  • Describes or encourages activities which may lead to the use of physical violence or group disruption.
  • Any mail that encourages or instructs criminal activity.
  • Sexually explicit material which by its nature or content poses a threat to the security, good order, or discipline of the jail.

If you have any questions about the mail policies, please call (941) 747-3011 x 2921.

How to Call an Inmate

Inmates at the Manatee County Jail cannot receive incoming phone calls, however, they have access to phones and can make outgoing calls from the inmate housing area. Phone calls are recorded and may be monitored at any time.

The Manatee County Sheriff's Office works with Advance Pay Services to provide phone services to inmates. Please visit to sign up for their services and use MCD # 20105. If you need help you can contact them by phone at 800.483.8314.

How to Send Money

You can send money to an inmate at the Manatee County Central Jail by visiting and using the facility PLC# 5500.  This site will accept deposits from a credit or debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo. If you do not have your inmate's booking number, click here or call 941-723-5132.

During Visitation

Visitors may leave inmates money to purchase commissary items using The Cobra Cash Machine. It accepts cash in multiples of $5.00 to $100.00. It does not accept $1.00 bills. The Cobra machine also accepts debit and credit cards..


Money orders are accepted through the mail. The envelope MUST be addressed to:

Manatee County Central Jail
14470 Harlee Road
Palmetto, Florida 34221
Inmates Name/Booking Number

  • Money Orders must be made out to "MCSO Inmate Account" on the "Pay To" line, otherwise it will be returned
  • Personal notes/letters addressed to inmates that are sent with money orders will be disposed of

Programs For Inmates

The Commissary at the jail offers snack foods, writing paper, stamps, envelopes, socks, underwear, T-shirts, bras, toiletries, and playing cards. The Medical Unit provides 24-hour health care for inmates (they will be charged a fee for requested medical services, and there is a copay for prescription medication).

  • Religious Services are offered by various denominations and there is a Chaplain available for counseling.
  • Educational Programs available for inmates include GED courses, carpentry, sewing, culinary arts, diesel mechanics, horticulture, meat processing, auto body, and welding. 
  • There is counseling for substance abuse, including AA and NA meetings.
  • Library Service
  • Exercise Yard
  • Television is only available for special programs such as educational or religious themes.
  • Tabletop games

Pictures of Manatee County Central Jail

Careers at Manatee County Central Jail

If you are interested in a career with the Manatee County Sheriff's Office and would like more information about the job openings at the Manatee County Jail, click here

All applicants applying for a position with the Manatee County Sheriff's Office must complete an application and submit it to Human Resources. In addition, Law Enforcement and Correction Deputy Applicants are required to take the TABE (Test of Adult Basic Education).

Employee benefits at the Manatee County Sheriff's Office include:

  • Certified (LE/CO) Deputy - Highly competitive salaries that are ranked in the top range for Law Enforcement Agencies in the State of Florida.
  • Excellent State Retirement
  • Uniforms for Certified and Specific Civilian Personnel
  • 12 Holidays Per Year (includes employee's birthday)
  • A Vacation Plan that starts accruing time immediately. This allows you to earn two weeks of vacation time by the end of your first year.
  • Sick Leave - 12 days per year
  • Life Insurance
  • Health Insurance - Individual Plan, 91% paid by the Agency (employee pays 9%) (Optional Family Plans: Costs are Co-Shared)