St. Johns County Jail

The St. Johns County Jail is located in St. Augustine, Florida and is operated by the Corrections Division of the St. Johns County Sheriff's Department. This 664-bed facility houses adults and juveniles—both felony and misdemeanor offenders—who have been arrested by local county or municipal law enforcement and who are waiting for their pre-trial hearing.

All offenders arrested in St. Johns County are processed through the main facility and will remain there until they are sentenced or released as required by the courts.

The core functions of the Corrections Division is to provide care, custody, and control for all inmates incarcerated. There are two separate facilities in St. Johns County for housing of inmates: the Main Detention Unit and the Community Work Release Center.

St. Johns County also has a Community Work Release Center (CWRC), a 100-bed facility which houses male inmates who have been sentenced to the county jail for 364 days or less. Inmates housed in this facility are allowed to participate in the work release program or county work squad provided they meet the facility criteria.

Booking Process

Upon entry into the Main Detention Unit at the St. Johns County Jail, your loved one will be entered into the computer system, fingerprinted and photographed. Once this is completed, they will be screened by a nurse and then placed into a holding cell. 

Once the jail staff receives all the charge information and the computer system is updated, the inmate will be allowed to make a phone call to attempt to bond out. If they are unable to bond out, they will see a judge within 24 hours to set bond; this is called first appearance. First appearances are held daily between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 11:00 a.m.

Inmate Search

To find out if your loved one is being held in St. Johns County, click here, call (904) 209-3125, or use VINE (see below). Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth when using the VINE website.

If you are looking for your child after they've been arrested, you can call the booking department at (904) 209-3125, and they will advise you of the condition of your child and the nature of their criminal charges. 

If your child does not have to go to the Department of Juvenile Justice, you will be able to pick them up from the detention center. If they have to go to the Department of Juvenile Justice due to the severity of their charges, you can contact the Department of Juvenile Justice at (386) 238-4780, and they will advise you of their process.

Florida VINE

The Florida VINE system is a service through which victims of crime can search for information regarding the custody status of their offender, and to register to receive phone calls and e-mail notifications when the offender’s custody status changes. 

This service is provided to assist Victims of Crime who have a right to know about their offender's custody status. Click this link to register.

Inmates being held for U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), the Florida Department of Corrections (DOC), or charges from other counties will not be found by going to the VINE Link above. You will have to call the St. Johns County Jail.

Bonding someone out of the St. Johns County Jail

If an inmate has bondable charges, he or she can bond out at any time. A bond can be paid with or without a bail bond agent. The method (cash/surety) and amount of money needed for bonding someone out of the St. Johns County Jail depends on their charges. Most crimes, but not all crimes, are bondable offenses.

When you pay a cash bond at the jail, it is refunded to you when all court appearances have been made and the case is discharged, dismissed, or a not guilty verdict rendered. If the arrestee fails to appear or is found guilty, the money will be forfeited. When you use a Bail Bondsman for a surety bond, you will not get a refund.

Prison Insights

St. Johns County Jail

Go back

What Do Inmate Families Think?

Go back

What Do Former Inmates Think?

Go back

What Do Employees Think?

Go back
Sorry, there are no insights for this section of the facility yet.
Overall Score = /10
Total Respondents =

Visiting Hours and Rules

Inmate visits at the St. Johns County Jail are conducted at the St. Johns County Sheriff's Office Video Visitation Center located at:

4500 Avenue D
St. Augustine, FL 32084 

Visitation from members of the immediate family or approved friends is encouraged with the understanding there are certain rules and regulations that must be followed. Two types of visits are offered by the St. Johns County Sheriff's Office. 

Visits at the Video Visitation Center are free and can last up to one hour. Approved visitors may also conduct video visits from home with a computer or smartphone outside of scheduled times for a fee. These visits can be shorter than one hour, and are not considered one of the weekly permitted visits conducted at the Video Visitation Center. 

All visits, remote or at the Video Visitation Center, must be scheduled through the website of the visitation provider, HomeWav.

Twice weekly inmates are permitted to have visitation of sixty (60) minutes. Appointment times are:

  • Monday and Friday 8:00AM, 9:00AM, 10:00AM, 1:00PM, 2:00PM, and 3:00PM
  • Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, 1:00PM, 2:00PM, 3:00PM, 7:00PM and 8:00PM.
  • Visitation is closed on major holidays. 

The inmate has the right to decline or eliminate a visit. Visitors are required to complete a visitation questionnaire containing personal information and a copy of a picture ID card or Driver License. The visitation center does not accept Military ID's. 

If you are approved for visits, you are required to schedule appointments at least 24 hours in advance. All visitors must check in 15 minutes prior to scheduled appointments. 

All visitors must identify themselves when arriving at the visitation center with the proper ID. All visits are monitored and are subject to recording. 

Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a legal guardian with proof in hand or possess a valid marriage license. Birth Certificate, Court Documents, School ID or other Legal Documentation are accepted. 

No visitors under six years of age will be permitted to visit. The parent or legal guardian of a minor child must maintain close supervision of that child before, during, and after each visit. Children at no time will be unattended for any reason. 

Only four visitors are allowed to share a visitation during one visiting session. You will only communicate with the person you are scheduled to visit—NO EXCEPTIONS.

Applications for visitation are available in the lobby area of video visitation or the inmate may choose to mail out an application as well. Applications are also available online and may be downloaded and returned via US Mail. 

Visit Rules

Loud speech, boisterousness, and obscene behavior or language will not be tolerated. Inappropriate behavior will result in termination of visit and visitors will be asked to leave the premises. Due to safety and security concerns, visitors may be subject to electronic scanning. The items listed below are not permitted in the video visitation center:

  • All tobacco products 
  • Food or drinks of any kind 
  • Cameras, film, or video equipment/recording equipment 
  • Radios, Disc or Tape Players 
  • Any drugs, narcotics or intoxicating beverages. 
  • Visitors will not be in possession of firearms, weapons, knives, or sharp objects. 
  • Cell phones will not be permitted in visitation monitor areas. Cell phones will be turned off and stored in lockers. 
  • No taking of pictures during visits. 

No items are allowed at the visitation booth. Lockers are provided for personal items during your visit. 


Dress Code

All clothing worn must be clean, neat and in good repair. Shoes must be worn at all times. Revealing articles of clothing and/or showing undergarments or upper torso area will not be allowed—to include, but not limited to: 

  • ¾ Halter tops ¾ Tank tops ¾ Spaghetti straps ¾ Sleeveless shirts ¾ Shorts, skirts, and dresses must be knee length. Cover-ups, such as sweaters, jackets or T-shirts will be accepted. 
  • No article of clothing that would promote criminal activity 
  • No bikinis, nightgowns, see-through or low-cut clothing, or clothing that promotes criminal activity. All undergarments must be covered. 

Any activities that are sexually suggestive (i.e., showing certain body parts) will result in the permanent suspension of that visitor.

Physical Address

St. Johns County Jail
3955 Lewis Speedway
St. Augustine, FL 32084

Driving Directions:

General Phone Number

Detention Center:              (904) 209-1443
Booking:                              (904) 209-3125
Nursing:                               (904) 209-1986
Video Visitation Center:    (904) 209-2222

To schedule inmate property pickup, call 904-209-1430, Monday thru Friday between 8:00 and 4:30. Before arriving at the jail, please call to confirm that the receptionist has the property release form needed on file.

Inmate Mailing Address(es)

St. Johns County Jail
Inmate Name/10-digit inmate ID number
PO Box 2925 PMB 79078
San Antonio, TX 78299-2925 

The St. Johns County Jail uses a mail processing center for all inmate mail. As soon as mail is received by the inmate, they can respond immediately by sending an instant message through the secure messaging application on the inmate tablets. 

Mail Requirements

  1. Mail arriving with postage due will be refused and returned to sender if possible. 

  2. Mail must be 10 pages or less per envelope. 

  3. Page size must be no larger than 8.5”x11.”

  4. Mail can include written or typed pages, photos, drawings or greeting cards. (No polaroid photos.) 

  5. Do not send mail or greeting cards with glitter, glue, tape, 3D elements, or electronic components (lights, music, animation). 

  6. Do not send any items containing, depicting, or relating to sexually explicit activity, illegal activity, violence, drug, or alcohol use, etc. 

  7. Do not send illegal substances or any other items considered to be contraband.

  8. Do not send cash, personal checks, or money orders 

  9. Do not mail originals of important documents such as Birth Certificates, Driver’s Licenses, Social Security Cards, Green Cards, etc., as they will not be returned. 

  10. Do not send original photos or other irreplaceable or valuable items, as they will not be returned. 

Mail meeting these requirements will be scanned within 24 hours of receipt, and the physical mail will be destroyed. Scanned mail will be reviewed by facility staff in a timely manner. 

ALL Scanned Mail will be inspected by facility personnel for the following:  

  1. Threats of physical harm against persons or threats of criminal activity.  

  2. Threats of blackmail or extortion.  

  3. Plans for escape.  

  4. Plans for activities in violation of facility rules.  

  5. Letters written in code.  

  6. Information, which if communicated, would create a clear and present danger of violence and physical harm to a human being.  

  7. Photographs, drawings, or cartoons displaying nudity or sexually graphic content or sexually explicit reading material. 

All scanned mail containing any of the above listed items will be turned over to the proper authorities for investigation. Approved scanned mail will be saved and can be accessed by the inmate via the inmate tablets. 


Do not send magazines, books, or packages to the processing center. Please send these to the jail at: 

Inmate Name/ID Number
St. Johns County Jail
3955 Lewis Speedway
St. Augustine, FL 32084 


To start messaging with an inmate today, ask them to take the first step and send a message to a valid cell phone number. When the inmate sends the message, you will receive a text notification on your cell phone with a link to set up an account. Once this account is set-up you will be able to view and send messages.

How to Call an Inmate

Inmates at the St. Johns County Jail cannot receive incoming phone calls, however, they have access to phones and can make outgoing calls from the inmate housing area daily. Phone calls are recorded and may be monitored at any time. 

You can have telephone communications with your inmate by setting up an account with Paytel. You can call Paytel at 1 (800) 729-8355 to set up an account, or you can do it online at

How to Send Money

Funds may be deposited into an inmate’s account using three different methods: 

  • The Kiosk located at the St. Johns County Sheriff's Office Visitation Center Lobby at 4500 Avenue D, St. Augustine, Florida 32084 or the St. Johns County Detention Center Lobby at 3955 Lewis Speedway, St. Augustine, FL 32084.
    • Family & Friends must have the inmate's MNI Number 
    • The Kiosk accepts Cash, Credit, and Debit Cards 
    • Cash is only accepted in $1, $5, $10, $20, $50, & $100 dollar bills 
    • Funds are posted real time to the inmate’s account 
  • Deposit money online using JailATM 
    • Family & Friends must have your MNI# Number and the name of the Facility – St. Johns County Sheriff’s Office 
    • accepts Credit and Debit Cards only 
    • Funds are posted real time to the inmate’s account 
  • Send a money order or cashier's check by mail
    • Money Orders must arrive at least one business day prior to commissary to be available to the inmate 
    • The Sender's Name, Return Address and the Inmate’s MNI Number must be on the money order 
    • The Senders Name and Return Address must be on the envelope 
    • The Money Order must be made payable to the Inmate 
    • Mail to: Inmate Name 3955 Lewis Speedway St. Augustine, Florida 32084

Click here to see a canteen list for the Main Detention Unit.

Programs For Inmates

During their incarceration at the St. Johns County Jail, inmates are provided the opportunity to participate in a number of different programs. These programs include:

  • Alcoholics Anonymous
  • Narcotics Anonymous
  • GED
  • Parenting
  • Anger Management
  • Domestic Violence Prevention
  • And many others

Pictures of St. Johns County Jail

Careers at St. Johns County Jail

If you are interested in a career with the St. Johns County Sheriff's Office and would like more information about the job openings at the St. Johns County Jail, click here.

Basic requirements for an appointment or commission in St. Johns County:

  • Be a US Citizen
  • Be of Good Moral Character as defined by the Florida Administrative Code
  • Possess a valid Florida Driver License
  • High School Graduate or have a GED equivalency diploma
  • Employees who are assigned an agency vehicle may live no more than ten (10) miles from the St. Johns County line. It is not an option to decline a take home car in lieu of the ten (10) mile restriction.
  • Military Discharge (DD-214, if applicable) – Must have an honorable, uncharacterized or general with honorable conditions military discharge.