Heard County Jail

The Heard County Jail is located in Franklin, Georgia and is operated by the Jail Division of the Heard County Sheriff's Office. This jail is primarily a holding facility for men and women who have been arrested by local law enforcement. 

The Heard County Jail is a pre-trial facility where persons accused of crimes that cannot bond out await their court date. 

The jail also houses individuals who have been sentenced to serve up to one year of confinement in a local setting, as well as individuals who've been sentenced for more serious crimes and are waiting for bed space to become available with the Georgia Department of Corrections.

Inmate Search

To find out if your loved one is being held in Heard County, call the jail at (706) 675-3329. Be prepared to provide the inmate’s full name and date of birth.

Bonding someone out of the Heard County Jail

A criminal bond is a financial guarantee that the arrested person will appear in court on a specified date. A BOND IS NOT A FINE. The person you are posting the bond for must appear before a judge to answer criminal charges. 

A fee of $20.00 is charged for every bond that is written by the jail. This fee may be paid in cash and is non-refundable.

If an inmate has bondable charges, he or she can bond out at any time. A bond can be paid with or without a bail bond agent. The method (cash/surety) and amount of money needed for bonding someone out of the Heard County Jail depends on their charges. Most crimes, but not all crimes, are bondable offenses.

  • Cash Bond
  • When you pay a cash bond, it is refunded to you when all court appearances have been made and the case is discharged, dismissed, or a not guilty verdict rendered. Failure to appear at the appointed time will result in forfeiture of the bond amount and may result in a Bench Warrant ordered by the judge.
  • To sign a cash bond, you must bring a photo identification card and enough cash to cover the bond. The sheriff's office only accepts paper money (no change allowed), money order, or cashier’s check. The entire amount of the cash bond must be paid at the bonding office before the inmate is released. 
  • Surety Bond

When you use a Bail Bondsman for a surety bond, you will be required to pay a fee (usually equal to 10 to 15 percent of the bond amount) that will not be refunded. Only an approved bondsman may be used.

For more information about inmate bonds in Heard County, click here.

Prison Insights

Heard County Jail

Go back

What Do Inmate Families Think?

Go back

What Do Former Inmates Think?

Go back

What Do Employees Think?

Go back
Sorry, there are no insights for this section of the facility yet.
Overall Score = /10
Total Respondents =

Visiting Hours and Rules

Visitation with family members, relatives, and friends is allowed at the Heard County Jail. Visits last a maximum of 20 minutes. Visitation for inmates is on Wednesday and Sundays only. All visitors must be at Jail 15 minutes prior to scheduled visitation to sign in. Latecomers will not be allowed visitation.

Visiting hours are based on the section the inmate is housed in:

Section "A" Maximum Security:

  11:00 AM to 11:20 AM

Section "E" Females:

  12:30 PM to 12:50 PM

Section "C" Minimum Security:

  1:00 PM to 1:20 PM

Section "D" Minimum Security:

  2:00 PM to 2:20 PM

Section "B" Work Detail Males:

  7:00 PM to 7:20 PM (Wednesdays)

  3:00 PM to 3:20 PM (Sundays)

Work Detail Females:

  7:30 PM to 7:50 PM (Wednesdays)

  12:30 PM to 12:50 PM (Sundays)

Each Inmate is allowed up to four persons on their visiting list. The inmate will fill out a visitation form and list the visitors he or she wishes to see during booking. 

Once the inmate fills out the visitation form, and all four slots are used, changes can't be made for six months. Victims of a crime which resulted in the incarceration of the inmate will not be allowed to be placed on the visitation form. 

On visitation days, only two visitors that are on the inmate's visitation list will be allowed to visit. The staff has the authority to terminate any visit if they feel the safety and security of the facility is threatened in any way.

Proper dress is required. Halter tops, short shorts/skirts, low cut tops, low cut dresses, or any clothing showing midriffs are strictly prohibited.

Contact visits are only allowed for state sentenced inmates who will be going to prison. They must be authorized and scheduled by the Jail Administrator.

Physical Address

Heard County Jail
11820 HWY 100 N
Franklin, GA 30217

Driving Directions: https://goo.gl/maps/PqfzHc3LhsgigtNw7

General Phone Number

(706) 675-3329

Inmate Mailing Address(es)

Heard County Sheriff's Office
(Inmates Name)
P.O. Box 339
Franklin, GA 30217

All incoming mail must have a return address on the envelope. Mail that has any extra writing or graphics on the envelopes is not allowed. Inmates are not allowed to send or receive mail from other incarcerated inmates. 

All incoming mail is inspected and may be randomly read for information that may constitute a threat to the safety and security of the jail.

Any money orders or certified checks sent to the inmate will be removed from the envelope and a receipt will be placed in the envelope showing the inmate that money was received.

Pictures that are sent to inmates must not contain any nudity, depict violence, or depict illegal activity.  Any letter with explicit sexual content will be rejected.  

If any mail contains any of the items listed above, the entire envelope and everything in it will be returned to the sender.

How to Call an Inmate

Inmates at the Heard County Jail cannot receive incoming phone calls. However, the inmates do have access to phones and can make outgoing calls from the inmate housing area during daytime hours. Phone calls are recorded and may be monitored at any time.

How to Send Money

Friends and family who wish to make a deposit into an inmate's account at the Heard County Jail can do so online at www.jailatm.com, or they can use the Lockdown kiosk in the Sheriff's Office main lobby. If you prefer to mail in a money order, send it to:

Heard County Sheriff's Office
(Inmates Name)
P.O. Box 339
Franklin, GA 30217


Deposits must be made by 11:00 PM on Sunday in order for the inmate to place an order from the commissary that week. Each inmate may purchase commissary once a week. The weekly spend limit is $45.00.

Commissary items include snacks, personal hygiene items, undergarments, stamps, writing materials and envelopes. 

If you have any questions regarding an inmate's account,please contact Debbie Moreland at (706) 675-3329 or by email at [email protected].

Programs For Inmates

This information is not available.

Pictures of Heard County Jail

Careers at Heard County Jail

If you are interested in a career with the Heard County Sheriff's Office and would like more information about the job openings and opportunities at the Heard County Jail, click here.